domingo, 21 de noviembre de 2021


 The exhibition Among the Garbage and the Flowers brings together artists and scientists to question the imaginary divide between the urban and the wild, between anthropogenic and so-called "natural" landscapes.

The Art, Biodiversity and Climate (ABC) Network brings together members of the Flute & Bowl: Oxford Art and Science (coordinated by Anya Gleizer and Katja Lehmann), Oxford ONE network (coordinated by Tristram Walsh), the Biodiversity Network (coordinated by Cecile Girardin) and the Oxford Climate Research Network to bridge the gap that separates the Humanities (and, more specifically, the arts, music, performance and dance) from crucial research into conserving our planetary support systems. This network engages creative practitioners and researchers to build a new common imaginarium of the world as-it-could-be, transcending academic disciplinary boundaries and short-term political incentives.

The ABC Network will take over 6b Center of Contemporary Art - an ideal meeting point between urban wilderness and culture, an island oasis in the heart of the Seine - to explore which natural and cultural forces are shaping our collective future and where we can look for hope among the garbage and the flowers, in the much-anticipated run-up to the COP26 in Glasgow this year.

The Flute & Bowl is an international interdisciplinary collective of artists and researchers dedicated to creating and promoting artistic and ecological initiatives at the crossroads of art and science.

Among the Garbage and the Flowers is organised and curated by the founder and acting president of The Flute & Bowl, artist and researcher Anya Gleizer (University of Oxford), and the philosopher Pablo Fernandez Velasco (TCD, UCL).

The exhibition brings together the works of the artists Bridget Suart, Rowan Ireland, Eleanor Capstick, Georgia Crowther, James Scott, Calder Tsuyuki Tomlinson, Tegan O'Hara, Harrison Taylor, Crystal Ma, Katja Lehmann, Jinjoon Lee, Xia Zhi-Zhou, Alexandra Yakovleva, Ziyue Chen, Stephen Brennan, Catriona Gallagher, Filippo Fabbri, Lynn Hyeong, Sally Levell, Neeli Malik, Sarah Watkinson, Maya Adams, Antonia Jameson, Jenny Lines, Alice Hackney, Loveday Pride, Natalie Waller, Shanley McConnell, Anya Gleizer and Mark Haim.

Made in collaboration with the scientists Leonard Magerl, Hannah Nazri, Thea Stevens, Emily Seccombe, Rachel Qiu Kexin, Imogen Malpas, Amillin Hussain, Kate Cullen, Katja Lehmann, Hohee Cho, Dario Carloni, Samuel Gledhill, Rupert Stuart-Smith, Trisha Gopalakrishna, Oliver Tooth, Noam Vogt, William Sharkey, Kirsty Monaghan, Sophie Taylor, Rosalie Wright, Isabel Key, Constance McDermott.

With the support of the following Oxford labs and research groups: Oxford Net Zero, the Ecosystems Group, the Interdisciplinary Centre for Conservation Science, the Physical Oceanography Group, the ECI Ecosystem Governance Programme, the Oxford Seascape Ecology Lab, the Advanced Functional Materials Research Unit and the Nature-based Solutions Initiative of the University of Oxford.

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario